Collections Online
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales
Advanced Search
Photograph (print)
Photograph, from left to right, of F.E. Starmer (Mining Engineer, Lehigh Navigation Coal Company), Norman Richards (Superintendent Coaldale Colliery, Lehigh Navigation Coal Company), D.R. Grenfell MP, Evan Evans, and John Boyle (Miner Coaldale Colliery). Coaldale Colliery opened in 1845 and closed in 1954. A visitor’s centre opened in the early 1930s offering public tours. The colliery remains are now part of the Coaldale Miners’ Memorial Park. David Rhys Grenfell visited the United States of America in 1949. Photograph forms part of a collection relating to the political life of David Rhys Grenfell CBE JP MP.