Contact us

Archaeology & Numismatics

Dr Steve Burrow

Deputy Head of Public History & Archaeology
View Profile

Dr Adelle Bricking

Curator: Collections & Access; Finds Officer
View Profile

Evan Chapman

Senior Curator: Archaeology
View Profile

Adam Gwilt

Principal Curator: Prehistory
View Profile

Meredith Hood

PhD Student

Sian Iles

Curator: Medieval & Later Archaeology

Dr Mark Lewis

Senior Curator: Roman Archaeology
View Profile

Nerys Rigby

Administrative Officer – History & Archaeology (Mon–Wed)

Dr Elizabeth Walker

Principal Curator: Collections & Access
View Profile

George Whatley

PAS Cymru Finds Officer (Job Share)

Dr Susie White

PAS Finds Officer NE Wales

Alastair Willis

Senior Curator: Numismatics and the Welsh Economy

Donna Short

Administrative Officer – History & Archaeology (Wed–Fri) | Museum Assistant

Richard Brewer

Honorary Research Fellow

Peter Webster

Honorary Research Fellow (History & Archaeology)
View Profile

In addition there are 12 honorary research fellows: Richard Bebb (furniture), Richard Brewer (Roman archaeology), Michael Freeman (social and cultural history, Welsh costume), Dr Madeline Gray (monuments, memorials and Christian devotion), Dr Robin Gwyndaf (Welsh folklore), Dr John R. Kenyon (castles); Dr Stuart Needham (Bronze Age metalwork and prehistoric  archaeology), Dr Sian Rees (medieval archaeology), Dr Chris Standish (archaeometallurgy), Dr Eurwyn Wiliam (Emeritus Keeper, Welsh vernacular architecture), Dr David Williams (medieval seals) and Dr Juliette Wood (folklore and Arthur).

Research is also undertaken by the Portable Antiquities Scheme in Wales (PAS Cymru), which is based in the Department and has an Advisory Committee made up of representatives of the three funding bodies in Wales (AC-NMW, Cadw and MALD of Welsh Government).