The Summer House


This little summer house comes from the grounds of Cardiff Castle. In about 1880, the immensely rich 3rd Marquis of Bute was engaged on a massive building programme in Cardiff. He used the brilliant architect William Burges to restore the ruined Cardiff Castle and Castell Coch nearby, and transform them into extravagant and unique romantic follies. The architectural details of this building suggest that it could well have been designed by Burges himself or by his assistant William Frame, who completed the work at Castell Coch after Burges's death in 1881.

Building facts:

  • Original Location: Bute Park, Cardiff
  • Date originally built: c.1880
  • Dismantled and moved to St Fagans: 1987
  • Date opened to the public: 1988
  • Visiting information